Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2008, 06:20 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Looking for suggestions on a macro Lens for butterflies and bees

I own a Pentax K10D, along with a Pentax kit 18-55, a Pentax 50mm 1.7, and a Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 with a macro switch for 180-300 built in, but I'm having trouble capturing a tack sharp photo of butterflies and bees. I'm not very experienced, and I'm sure my inexperience has a lot to do with it, but I also feel if I had the proper lens I'd do much better, so before I sell this K10D, I'd like to give it a try with another lens for what I'm looking to shoot. I can sure use your help. I'm not sure what my top $ amount for a lens would be at this point.

12-06-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Jim,

Welcome to the forums!

I will be honest with you, based on what you describing, I believe it is your technique, not the lens or the camera. Macro work takes a lot of patients and practice. Having dedicated 1:1 macro lens, that allows you to closer to the subject than your Tamron would take even more practice and skill development.

Tamron is a very capable lens, so is K10D, take a look at our members using this lens for the subjects you are after:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/40217-tamron-70-300-only-macro-option.html

Even 18-55 is more than capable producing great closups of insects, butterflies (as it can focus pretty close to the subject), just lack the focal length, so less working distance.

Here is a link to a very well respected site with tips and suggestions on macro and should aid anyone who is venturing into the "small world" of photography:

Plonsky - Macrophotography Article

Hope this helps.

Regards,
D
12-07-2008, 08:14 AM   #3
Pentaxian