Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2008, 10:05 PM   #1

1st Prime Lens... old topic, new thread

I'm sure this has been discussed on here before. I'm newly registered, but I've read through a lot of previous threads regarding this and other topics. However, for the sake of not missing some new enlightening thoughts before I make a purchase, I thought I'd ask...

I'm new to photography. I have a K100D Super and the 2 kit lenses and have been taking pictures with them for 8 months or so. I've read about primes being all the rage to really take quality photos. I know that the equipment is not going to take good pictures without a good photographer. But, I want a lens that I know I can't "fault" while I am continuing to grow as a photographer.

I have decided that an old M 50mm 1.4 would be a good first choice. It seems that I would be forced to master some exposure basics with one of these manual lenses, which would be helpful in the long-run.

Since 50mm is not "normal" on a DSLR, and I am losing any auto capabilities, should I reconsider? Maybe choose an FA-50, or a 35mm? I'm not 100% sure that an M lens is the best idea, or that a 50mm is the best idea either. But, I've heard about this lens being one of the best, and the wide aperture certainly seems like it would allow me to take pictures otherwise impossible with my kit lenses (especially sans flash).

12-08-2008, 10:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums