Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2008, 07:46 PM   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sabatocd Quote
The FA* 300 /2.8 is a great lens and I'm told it works great with the Pentax 1.7 TC. Both are hard to find but will worth with the K20.

There is a TC coming out for the DA* Lens but I don't know when it will ship.

Some of the long FA lens used to be available through special order. They are not listed on the website anymore though so maybe not.

As far as glass quality, I have no personal experience with the lens over 300. I have been told the Pentax makes excellent glass.

I don't know how helpful that was, but there you go.
If you have an FA 2.8 300mm, you would be better , in my opinion, using either of sigmas TC's

I own both TCs and use them with sigma's 70-200 F2.8 and it is almost impossible to tell they are installed.

I believe the 300 F2.8 is a design with a recessed rear element that will accept the sigma TCs.

ALthough the pentax AFTC is good (and I have it too), you will be giving up full AF, because the TC turns the lens into MF and then uses the focusing elements within the TC to focus. This TC works great on pentax MF 300's either the F2.8 or F4 but in my view retaining full AF and having a high quality 7 element TC is much better

12-10-2008, 11:05 AM   #17
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks m8o, the links were very helpful, and thanks for the compliments on my shots.

Thanks Lowell, which lens IYO is better optically 300/2.8 Sigma or Pentax FA ?
12-10-2008, 11:08 AM   #18
Veteran Member

I don't consider myself a birder so pls take that into account. I mean if a large bird is harassing me, then i will certainly take its picture, but otherwise, no :-)