Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2022, 11:55 AM   #1

Suggestion for the lens selection

Hey guys,

I'm a researcher in the field of Fluid Mechanics. We use a camera to acquire images of a jet flow using laser-induced fluorescence (LIF). Currently, we are using a pco.dimax 4 Megapixel CMOS camera (https://www.psi.ch/sites/default/files/import/sls/tomcat/Station1_DetectorsE..._dimax_105.pdf) with a 50 mm pentax lens (f/1.4). The lens is C25011KA.

We want to reduce the size of our captured field of view to approximately 1/3 of what it is now (the field of view size is currently about 260 x 260 mm and we want around 80 x 80 to 90 x 90 mm). What do you recommend in terms of the mount type, minimum working distance, and focal length? We can also reduce the distance between the lens and the region of interest to about 4/5 of what it is now.

Any suggestion is appreciated since I am a beginner in the field of optics.

01-29-2022, 01:12 PM - 1 Like   #2
GUB
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is the lens you have perhaps a C mount TV lens?
What you are asking here is simple proportionality (or inverse).
If you want 1/3 of the field of view (as expressed in dimension) then 3 times the focal length ie 150mm.
Seeing you can move closer that can proportionally decrease the focal length.
01-29-2022, 01:22 PM - 1 Like   #3
GUB
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Remember the ray diagrams you drew in Physics ? Just think of your current lens as a simple lens placed at it's optical centre and with the focal length it is rated at.
Attached Images

01-29-2022, 01:52 PM - 2 Likes   #4
hcc
Pentaxian

HI,
I am also a fluid mechanics researcher and we use a Phantom™ ultra-high speed digital camera (v2011), equipped with a Nikor lens mount. We typically operate at 20,000 fps with in a definition of 1280 × 800 pixels.