Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2022, 02:05 PM   #1
Pentaxian

HD Pentax 16-50mm PLM Decision Help

Good day everyone,

I reside in Canada. I am not a pro. I use a KP, and have just acquired a used 55-300 PLM (cleaning it up currently before some testing).

I have been saving for a good 2 years now and have been thinking about pulling the trigger on the new 16-50 PLM as a travel lens and this should pair well with the 55-300 for a 2 lens kit for travel (weight isn't an issue and laughable compared to the DFA 70-200 that I have come to love when not on the road). This would be it for me in terms of lens ownership for a long time (no further budget).

I have a dilemma however. I've been reading through every post I can on this lens and came across a few regarding auto-focus issues (sounds to be largely with the K3-III?), specifically being inconsistent depending on the AF point being used:

ref: Can someone check the accuracy/difference of all AF points in AF-S Select - PentaxForums.com
Pentax HD DA 16-50 PLM autofocus problem - PentaxForums.com

My questions to the world of Pentax:

1) Should I wait, assuming there is some sort of early adopter issues happening with the first batch of lenses (this might be silly, as it's been quite a while now)?

2) Is it possible that these are just isolated incidents and 99% of 16-50 PLM owners aren't posting because they are outside enjoying their lenses without issues (this is certainly the case in a lot of reviews of various products, you only hear the bad stuff).

I am aware that the KP focusing system is a little different, but it's the best camera body I will own for many years to come (until it falls apart essentially), however I'll only get one shot at this in terms of my budget and sometimes Pentax gear can be a pain in Canada to order / go back and forth with a distributor on warranty claims.