Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-21-2022, 02:21 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
New vs Old lenses resolution

Hi guys,
I'll try to make it short. Before posting this I searched the forum for something similar. I wasn't able to find the answer.
The situation is the following: I am a product photographer. Often I have products that have a very fine texture. For example clothing (fabric texture) or the latest one - matcha powder.
I am using a K1 mark 1 with
1. SMC Pentax-F 50mm F2.8 Macro
2. SMC Pentax-F 100mm F2.8 Macro

I know matcha is a very fine powder, still often I have a feeling I should get more details, a higher detalization.
The question is: Do you think changing the old SMC Pentax-F 50mm F2.8 Macro to the new HD Pentax-D FA* 50mm F1.4 SDM AW will change anything? Both these lenses have a 10 for sharpness.
Same thing with 100mm: Do you think changing the old SMC Pentax-F 100mm F2.8 Macro to the new SMC Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 Macro WR will change anything? Both these lenses have a 9.8 for sharpness.
To conclude, do you think that using the same camera, same lighting, f-stop, etc... but with newer lenses will increase the detalization of my images?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
05-21-2022, 02:58 AM - 5 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

You'd not get a significant bump in detail using more recent lens models.

What you could do with what you already have is:
- use pixel shift
- use a wider lens aperture and focus stack
- use pixel shift, with wider aperture and focus stack
- get closer and stitch a few frames (e.g using the 100 macro instead of the 50 macro)
- fine grained sharpening (capture sharpening / de-convolution type sharpening)

Combining pixel-shift, focus stacking and stitching should get you a massive increase in image detail, downside being more processing time.
05-21-2022, 03:08 AM - 1 Like   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter