Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 18 Likes Search this Thread
08-13-2022, 08:22 AM   #1

75 bucks worth? -> Pentax SMC DA 50mm f/1.8 K-mount with uv filter'

Hello dear photographers. I'm new to photography and bought myself a secondhand K10D to practice with.

I was advised in a previous thread to buy a Pentax autofocus 50mm lens. I found one in good state (so it says) for 75 euro/dollar. Would this be a good investment or should I find it for cheaper you'd say? I use a local website from the Netherlands and don't want to use eBay.

Many thanks!

Attached Images

08-13-2022, 08:35 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Only if it's in excellent condition. I see them going for 50-60.
Very nice lens but I personally prefer the SMC-F 50mm f1.7 which can be had for just a bit more.
I think - just my opinion - you should start with the SMC DA 35mm f2.4 which sells for 80-90 dollars, it's more versatile. But definitely add a 50mm lens when you can!
08-13-2022, 08:48 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
A 50mm lens was considered a "standard lens" on a 35mm camera. Standard, being approximately the view as you would see it with your eyes. As the K10D (which is a great camera - checkout the K10D club posts) has a smaller sensor, a 50mm lens is more like a small telephoto. This is particularly useful for portraits and sounds ok for 75 Euro, but at the risk of being shot down in flames, would suggest a better bet to start out with would be a SMC Pentax-DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AL WR which are widely available for about £50 (uk used shop price). This would allow you to get wider views up to small telephoto length at a reasonable price and water resistant to boot. This lens was often bundled with the K10D (I have still got mine) and is a pretty useful lens. Beware though, once you have been bitten by the Pentax bug, You will want to try out some of the more exotic cameras and lenses. Lock up that credit card!