Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2008, 11:03 AM   #1

Best way to test a lens

Hi. I'm a new forum member and this is my first post. I'm hoping for some advice concerning the best way to test a new lens to make sure you got a good copy.

I have a Pentax K10D and have been using the kit lens all this time. Yesterday, I finally bought some new lenses - a Tamron SP AF28-75 f /2.8 and the Pentax DA 55-300mm f/4-5.8. I did a lot of research and both seem like good lenses and good value for the money.

I'm concerned though because I've been reading about people getting bad copies of lenses. It's one of those instances of ignorance is bliss - yikes, front-focus problems, back-focus problems, etc. I'm pretty new to photography and I didn't realize those were even concerns. To make matters worse, it seems like it's sometimes a camera problem and sometimes a lens problem. To be honest, it makes my own eyes kind of blurry, especially seeing the focus test charts people use to test their lenses. Can someone recommend a basic battery of testing, preferably not using the focus charts (partly because it seems difficult to tell if the problem is simply that you didn't focus on the right part of the chart), but some type of more "real world" testing. I bought the lenses from B&H so I have 14 days to return them if something is off.

Thank you very much for your time and help.

Peace, Christopher

12-24-2008, 11:53 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Just shoot what you'd normally shoot and see if you like the results. IMHO people get waaaaay too hung up on machine test data (largely irrelevant unless that machine is shooting your pictures) and photos of brick walls and focus charts. If you take shots and like them, be happy. If you take shots and don't, then ponder pixel peeping and some basic focus tests (though even when I do that I shoot things I know, not charts.