Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2008, 04:21 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lenses for a K2000?

Hello experts!

I'm new to DSLR and am leaning toward a K2000. Not crazy about a kit lens, but at the moment, you can't seem to buy the body on it's own. So, I'll have the 18-55 that comes with the camera and am thinking of buying the DA 55-300 and the DA 40mm to round it out. Don't want to spend more than US$1,500 for the body and all lenses.

What I seem to be missing with these three lenses is Macro capability - so should I change out the Pentax 55-300 for a Sigma 70-300 which has some Macro? Or am I missing something? Will any of the three I mentioned give me Macro?

I don't want to have to lug around a lot of lenses but want wide angle, macro and a very decent zoom lens because I like to take nature shots. Also, I do a lot of low-light/no flash photography.

I'm open to suggestions for lenses. I'm also not 100 percent sold on the K2000 - still also considering a Olympus E-420 so any insight you can give between these two cameras would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

12-29-2008, 04:30 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't have any experience with the Olympus E-420, but it doesn't have shake-reduction if that's a consideration. As for lenses, since you want macro I would skip the 40mm Limited for now, and consider either the DA35 macro or the DFA100 macro, depending on how close you need to get. The DA35 has the advantave of being a very nice walk-around lens, but if you're shooting bugs or small animals a longer focal length is better. The Sigma 70mm macro is very nice too, but it's a big lens for the small K2000. Also check out the Tamron 90mm macro. The DA 55-300 is a good choice for a long zoom. And you might be suprised how good the kit lens is - if you still want to replace it, the DA16-45 is going fairly cheep these days, and is well regarded.
12-29-2008, 04:30 PM   #3