Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
05-11-2023, 08:17 AM   #1
Forum Member

DA 18-135mm WR - possible home clean?

I've boight my K-70 (or maybe K-50?) with this lens as a kit. One day I decided to test its weather seals and went shooting in a rain. Little I knew about the construction of my lens, I trusted that "WR" means nothing can get inside of it.

Unfortunatelly, since formentioned shooting session, there is a relatively big piece of a dust inside the lens. It gets visible on pictures quite early, from ~5.6/7.1 aperture. Is there any chances I could clean it myself? I've been looking for youtube videos on how to disassemble this lens, but there are no videos like this. There is alsno nothing in Pentax Lens Disassembly Database - PentaxForums.com .

I have some experience with unscrewing things plus I have some manual skills, but not sure about WR lens (or modern lens in general). If it's relatively easy, I'd like to give it a try (I love to learn new things) but definitely gonna need some assistance (totrial/guidelines). Can you share your experience so I can decide between self cleaning or professional cleaning services?

05-11-2023, 11:38 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Depending where it is, it might require minimal disassembly or a complete disassembly. If it’s on the frontal element it tends to be easier, as you can access by unscrewing the nameplate.
05-11-2023, 11:59 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you sure the dust is in or on the lens? It could be a dirty sensor. Easy to rule out - does it show up using a different lens?
05-11-2023, 01:33 PM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

The 18-135 is pretty dust resistant. I've had mine in many dirty, wet, windy conditions. Can you physically see the dust in the lens? If it's just in the pictures, I'm with paulh, it's maybe on the sensor, which is quite common.

05-11-2023, 02:58 PM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster