Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
06-03-2023, 11:14 AM   #1

Pentax smc da 1:3.5-5.6 18-55mm AL- Best Use?

What is the aforementioned lens vest used for? I’m a total newbie. I’m having a difficult time getting my K50 to focus and take a photo with this lens. My 50-200mm is easy to use. I know I must have the settings wrong. Even on ‘Auto’ I’m having difficulty. How is this lens best used? Thanks.

06-03-2023, 11:24 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 18-55 is a general purpose lens, certainly suitable for most scenes in good light.

Which focus mode are you using? Set your focus mode to single center point.
Set the aperture to f8, and focus on something at least 10 feet away and fairly large with some contrasting colors or patters, a tree, a billboard a road sign.
IF the camera focuses, that answers whether or not it's a technical issue.
06-03-2023, 11:33 AM   #3

Original Poster
The camera does focus, it just won’t allow the picture to be taken, sometimes. That’s why I think it’s user error/setting issue.
06-03-2023, 11:43 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I used that lens for a number of years on my first Pentax DSLR. It is very capable. If you are having focus issues I suggest it may be the camera. Have you tried blowing air over the AF sensor ?

06-03-2023, 11:44 AM - 1 Like   #5
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Is it possible that you're too close to your subject? All lenses have a minimum focus distance - any closer and the camera / lens will fail to focus. The 18-55's minimum focus distance is 25cm, but this is at the wide angle setting of 18mm. At longer focal lengths, you would need to be further away from your subject.
06-03-2023, 12:10 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Bourbonieer Quote