Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

View Poll Results: Is this DA*16-50mm good or bad?
Keep it -- it's good. 2388.46%
Return it or send it in for repair. 311.54%
Voters: 26. You may not vote on this poll

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2008, 06:43 PM   #1051

About to order a DA* 16-50mm. Filter advice needed

I'm new to photography and I'm not sure which filters to buy for this lens. I'm really looking to save money by not getting lenses that the effect can be reproduced with software. I've researched enough to pick multi coated filters and I'm looking to buy an UV, CPL, FL, and a ND. Would any of these be a waste of money with this lens and a K10D? Thanks for your help.

12-04-2008, 07:25 PM   #1052
Forum Member

I asked a question a week or two ago trying to decide which UV filter to get for my 16-50.. that thread might help in that regard https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/42290-protecti...te-lenses.html

I skipped on the UV - which still feels weird to me since all my old lenses had a UV (on the old K1000 film camera).

With the CPL I went B+W. Works great on the 16-50, well worth the money.

With the ND/GND I'm yet to decide, kinda leaning towards a lee holder or cokin z-pro holder with singh-ray ND/GND's or similar. Makes more sense for a GND to be able to adjust the horizon.

Let us know what you get and how it goes.
12-04-2008, 07:52 PM   #1053
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
That thread of avian's is a good discussion, and if you want to read more discussion on whether to use protective filters or not, do a search on the forum and you'll find many such threads. Unlike avian, I come down on the protection side of things, and put a Hoya Pro1D UV filter on my *16-50 today when it showed up (woohoo).
12-04-2008, 08:01 PM   #1054
Pentaxian

Here's another filter/no filter thread. Oh, I already posted it in the other thread...

Filter recommendation - Digital Camera Resource Page Forums