Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2009, 02:08 PM   #1

n00b question

some background about me:
I'm new to dslr photography. I finally decided to step up to a dslr from PnS a few months ago and I bought myself a K2000. Since buying the camera, I've learnt quite a few things about my camera: the aperture settings, the shutter speed, exposure (I'm still not good at getting the perfect exposure when shooting shots that have both well-lit and dark regions), white-balance and ISO ... I'm getting there.

Now that my interest has piqued and I'm getting better shots, I'm thinking of investing in good lenses. I have already bought two lenses other than the kit lens that came with the camera.

First, after doing much research, I bought the SMCP-FA 50mm f/1.4 Prime Lens. This was the first time that I felt "proud" of my photographs! I think this was an investment well made...

Next, just a couple of days ago, I bought the 75-300mm F4.5-5.8 SMCP-FA J AL Zoom Lens. I did not do any research on this and just bought it because it was affordable and I wanted a telephoto lens with a good zoom. I haven't tried this one out much and the few shots that i tried were pretty good.

Now, my two-fold question (sorry for the long-winded personal background):
I have absolutely no idea on what the different acronyms on the lens stand for. I do know that DA has something to do with digital and SR is shake reduction (IS), but what do these other acronyms mean? SMCP, FA, J, AL, IF, ED, SDM, *, etc. Is there any Pentax resource website which I can refer to and understand what this means?

My second question is, When buying my next lens, what should I be looking for? Like, which among the above acronyms should influence my buying decision one way or the other? What do you professionals look for when buying a lens?

// end of long-winded post

01-07-2009, 02:20 PM   #2

Hey,