Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2006, 04:54 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Help me choose a lens!

Hello, I am just getting into DSLR photography, I've owned 3 digital cameras over the past few years and decided SLR is the way to go for me. I think I am going to purchase the K10D when it is released. I'd like some help decided which lens to get, I enjoy shooting sunset and landscape photography, I'm also interested in Macro. Should I get the kit lens 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 with the camera, which I think would work fine for the outdoor photos, only I'm a little concerned it only costs $100 more to get the lens, doesn't strike me as a great lens. What macro lens should I get for shooting things like flowers? I really want to get the lens right the first time even if it means spending a little more initially.

10-20-2006, 05:14 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Original Poster
BTW, would there be any weathersealed lenses out there in this category? Wouldn't make much sense to have a seal camera but vunerable lens.
10-20-2006, 05:22 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi bigburb

The kit lens is a very good value for money bargain. I have seen some very amazing shots taken with it. If you are new to photography and don't really know which focal length that you use more often, I would suggest go with the kit lens since it is nice and cheap. But if you know which focal length you want, then get a better lens in that range. Eg if you constantly use wide angle range, then a good alternative is DA16-45/4.
As for your macro lens, if you are not shooting insects, you can go with DFA50/2.8. If you are shooting insects, then either DFA100/2.8 or Tamron 90/2.8 are all really nice macro lenses.

cheers,
Kenny
10-20-2006, 05:58 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I would have to agree the Tamron 90 DI Macro is an amazingly good quality lens, worth more than it costs ;-)