Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2009, 08:28 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help needed: Macro lens

Hi everyone,

I am looking into getting a macro lens for the K10D and K20D and I am told that the Pentax DA 35mm F2.8 Macro Ltd is quite a gem.
Frankly, I am looking for comparisons of any GOOD/excellent macro lenses which will fit the Pentax KD's.
Price is not really an issue unless there is a huge discrepancy in quality of make, sharpness, bokeh, etc ...
I have looked into Sigma (not really great reviews) and Zeiss (great reviews but no AF, no quick-shift and very high price).
Any help or suggestion(s) sure would be appreciated.

Can macro lenses be used for something else than "just macro"?
I have never used a true macro lens before but I did do some macro photography using other types of lenses, for instance, telephoto lenses.
One more question: isn't it rather difficult to get close to a moving insect, for example, and do macro-photography?

Anyway, I'll leave that to you pro's out there!
Cheers.
JP

01-14-2009, 08:33 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

For macro work the longer focal length the better, so that you can put some distance between the object and the lens. I would not recommend anything less than 100mm.

Macro lenses can be used for general photography but they tend to hunt in autofocus mode unless they have a focus limiter.

A used FA 100mm f/2.8 would be a good choice since it has a focus limiter. The D FA 100mm f/2.8 is also excellent optically but has no focus limiter and is thus best used in manual focus mode for general photography.
01-14-2009, 08:38 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote
For macro work the longer focal length the better, so that you can put some distance between the object and the lens. I would not recommend anything less than 100mm.