Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2009, 10:52 AM   #1

Purple fringing on DA* 16-50

Hi all,
this my first real post
This weekend I buyed the DA* 16-50 and i tried to do some photos with my k20D.
Because I read many post about problems on this particular lens, and because I'm not an expert, I'd like to ask you if all is ok.
Below there is a photo with DA* 16-50.
The exposition:
21mm
F8
1/200
ISO 100
TAv

I see some purple fringing on the extreme left and right of the church.

In your opinion is the len ok?
Best regards
Marco

Last edited by spinmar; 02-01-2009 at 11:21 AM.
02-01-2009, 11:36 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Are we being a little too picky here? Who is going to notice that? I think most lenses will give you at least that much PF in such a high contrast area.
02-01-2009, 11:43 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Spinmar,

I'll give you a $100 for that piece of crap. It looks pretty good to me.

Tom G
02-01-2009, 11:57 AM   #4
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
CA and PF are common issues that most Pentax lenses suffer from.
Luckily CA can be corrected in programs like Photoshop, and may improve the PF a little, but it won't go away totally.

People might be surprised to find out that our dear trilogy of FA limited lenses suffer from a lot of CA and PF in high contrast areas - that doesn't stop them from producing great images and being works of art themselves...

02-01-2009, 11:59 AM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks very much for your replies.
So I suppose that my len is ok.
For an unexpert photographer it's no easy to understand if the len is ok or not.
Because there are a lot of posts which report problems with da* 16-50, I wanted to know if my len was defective or not.
So can I insert my serial number as ok?
02-01-2009, 12:18 PM   #6
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter