Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2007, 02:43 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
UV filters: your opinions please!

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I finally dove into the deep end and ordered an FA 31mm ltd, so I have a good couple of months to ruminate on this question before I get to use the lens:

Am I stupid to use a UV filter because it defeats the purpose of an $800 lens, or am I stupid not to when it is a cheap way to protect my investment?

People seem to holler back and forth a lot on this, but I have never seen any real evidence for either side. So please, holler away but if anyone has a lead on DATA (I am a scientist, after all ), that would be most appreciated!

Thanks!

03-26-2007, 02:53 PM   #2
roy
Inactive Account

do you think a UV filter would have helped here ???

03-26-2007, 04:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Get It!

QuoteOriginally posted by Finn Quote
I finally dove into the deep end and ordered an FA 31mm ltd, so I have a good couple of months to ruminate on this question before I get to use the lens:

Am I stupid to use a UV filter because it defeats the purpose of an $800 lens, or am I stupid not to when it is a cheap way to protect my investment?

People seem to holler back and forth a lot on this, but I have never seen any real evidence for either side. So please, holler away but if anyone has a lead on DATA (I am a scientist, after all ), that would be most appreciated!

Thanks!
Get a Pro Hoya UV filter. I use them on all my good glass....The ONLY time I don't is on my Limited lenses as they are all recessed and always have the lens hoods on. They are always used in studio and never exposed to the elements. If I were to use them outdoors I would purchase filters for them.