Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2009, 10:56 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Please suggest a 2nd lens

I'm looking for something to complement the DA 18-55 AL II kit lens for my K20D....

I'm a noob and a total amateur so my main concern is budget for the time being.

I'd like something that would give me some telephoto reach and macro capability.

I see a Sigma and a Tamron lens for under $150.

Any comments on these or specific recommendations?

Thanks,

Ken

02-02-2009, 11:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Javaslinger Quote
I'm looking for something to complement the DA 18-55 AL II kit lens for my K20D....

I'm a noob and a total amateur so my main concern is budget for the time being.

I'd like something that would give me some telephoto reach and macro capability.

I see a Sigma and a Tamron lens for under $150.

Any comments on these or specific recommendations?

Thanks,

Ken
I honestly don't think that you can get another lens for less than $150 that you would be happy with. That Pentax 2nd generation DA kit lens you own, is actually a well-regarded lens. Since you say you are a "noob," my suggestion would be to stick with the lens you have and learn about exposure, as well as the capabilities of your excellent new camera, while you are saving your pennies. Once you learn more, you will really be in a better position to know what direction you want to go with a new lens, and you will have the funds to buy it!

Enjoy the journey.
02-03-2009, 04:26 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
I have to re-iterate PentaxPoke's comments above and to suggest you hang on to the $150 you're considering spending.

put a ring of barbed wire around it and add $5/$10 whenever you can. you'll be able to get a far better lens which will have so much more clarity and punch.