Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2009, 05:40 PM   #1

Auto Revuenon 135mm lens not stopping down

Hi, I would like to ask for some help, I am not really experienced (yet ) with the Pentax (D)SLR system.

My problem is that my Auto Revuenon 135mm f/2.8 PK mount lens does not stop down. The symptoms are the following: in case if I just mount the lens on my K10D, whatever f-number I set on the lens it just stays in f/2.8. However, if I mount a macro extension ring between the lens and body everything works just fine.
The lens had the Ricoh pin removed by the previous owner, at least is was mentioned in the ebay listing.

Below I attach some photos with the lens mount.

I would need quick advice because I am leaving soon for a trip and I would like to know whether to take the lens with myself or just take another one instead.

Thanks in advance for the help.
psz

02-11-2009, 06:26 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
One question:
  • Are you shooting in "M" mode?
The lens will not stop down except in "M" (Manual exposure) mode with a non-A K-mount lens.

Steve
02-12-2009, 03:25 AM   #3

Original Poster
As far as I know and experienced, M and Av modes works fine with non-A lenses, I am using both modes. Anyway, the mode shuold be irrelevant because the DOF preview has to work, doesn't it? But with this lens it doesn't, and as I said if use a simple extension tube the DOF preview starts to work.

The only difference that could be an issue is the width of the aperature lever. This Auto Revuenon has 5mm wide lever while regular Pentax lenses (also the macro tube I was using) have 3mm wide lever. Nevertheless, I have looked carefully at the in the aperature mechanics of camera and I can't see any reason why would not stop down a lens with wider lever.
02-12-2009, 09:04 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
- Remove the bayonet mount to access the lever ring and take it out.