Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-18-2009, 05:48 PM   #1

Lens to Pentax Program A PLEASE!!!

Hello! As a beginner I need your help. Recently I got bored with my digital camera and I want to start my adventure with film slr. I want to buy a Pentax Program A. The point is i dont know anything about lenses. What Im interested in is mainly street photography, street journalism, portraits . First question what do you yhink about camera? Second what lens should i get? Please help me with some solutions, thank you !!

02-18-2009, 06:04 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
There's a whole FILM SLR section where these things have been discussed - take a look, though unfortunately you'll get a ton of different opinions...

I have a Program Plus which is the USA name for this same camera. I love using it on the street etc. I use the following types of lenses on it without any problem at all:

SMC-A and equivalent, K-A mount lenses with the aperture ring. Set to the "A" you have a program camera. Set to any non-A aperture, you have aperture priority. (e.g. the 43 limited works well in this manner.)

SMC-M and equivalent, K-M mount lenses - set the aperture on the lens, and the camera is in Av mode.

Takumars and other M42's with the adapter - when you manually close the lens down to the aperture you want, the camera automatically sets shutter speed. The metering is more accurate than with the digital bodies.

Auto-focus / aperture ringless lenses (e.g. DA 70, 16-45) work great, but only in Program mode.

Manual exposure is also feasible with all except the last category.

I'm a wide to normal kind of guy - I got mine because it came with a SMC-A 28/2.8, which I find really good to use on the street. Any version of the 35mm's out there are classics for street shooting. And the Pentax 50's are hard to beat.