Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-19-2009, 06:26 AM   #1
Forum Member

oil on the blades

Hey all,

I am still learning my way around DSLR lenses and having a good time. QUestion for you, I can understand how dust and fungus get inside lenses (time and uses explain those), but what's up with this oil I keep reading about? What oil in the lenses moves and gets where it isn't supposed to? Is it really a big problem if it does? Its more a curiosity thing then anything else, but how does oil in the blades effect the shot?

THanks

02-19-2009, 06:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The oil comes from the mechanisms around the aperture blades. I believe the main problem with oil on the blades is that it causes them to stick in some cases. I currently have a Sears 135mm lens with the aperture stuck wide open. I imagine it could very well be the fault of gummed up oil on the blades.
02-19-2009, 06:47 AM   #3
Pentaxian

The oil always originates from the focusing thread of the lens. Lenses get older and the oil slowly creeps to places where it does its dirty job... I've cleaned a few lenses myself (mostly Zeiss M42 ones) and it's pretty straightforward with a cotton swab soaked in naphta. You clean the blades with the cotton swab; the naphta evaporates and you'll end up with a clean diaphragm.

By the way: I never clean the blades of true manual lenses (pre-set and manual) because these do not have a spring mechanism to open and close the diaphragm.
02-19-2009, 11:45 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
When a K-mount lens is on the camera, the aperture is held fully open to allow you to focus. When you take the shot, the camera allows the aperture to close down to the setting you have chosen. This has to happen pretty fast, before the shutter opens. Otherwise the shot is overexposed. After the shutter closes, the aperture returns to its wide open state.