Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-22-2009, 10:25 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Tamron AF Aspherical LD (IF) 28-200mm-please advise

Hi,

I'm a newbie. I just inherited a Pentax ZX-7 with a Tamron AF Asperical LD (IF) 28-200mm lens on it.

My first question is will the lens work on my K20d without any issues? (Like pins in the wrong place, etc.???)

I read a few posts on here about this lens. I'm just wondering if anyone could add their thoughts. Is it worth keeping and using?

Thanks for your help! Susan

02-22-2009, 12:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

is it the XR model? that was the one i have, it's a bit smaller than the first non-XR model.
the lens will work perfectly on any DSLR body.

if you want a cheap af superzoom, that is probably your best choice (the pentax/tamron 18-250 on digital is much much more). i had one for a while, and it did the job that it was required to do. sure, it was lacking in sharpness in certain areas and i think the colours were slightly 'off' in my opinion, but overall, it's a pretty decent lens. i found mines very well built with no zoom creep.
02-22-2009, 02:50 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I picked up an XR copy of this lens on the marketplace here as a budget walkaround zoom. I'm quite happy with it- any minor shortcomings are easily corrected in post processing, and it's handy and versatile.

I tend to shoot outdoors at f/8 most of the time- I don't consider this useful indoors, I save that for my MF primes.

I used this lens almost exclusively on a trip to France last fall. I loved it! A bit soft at 200mm, yep- it has lots of faults, such as nasty CA at the longer end of the zoom, but for the money, and a little PP? Can't beat it!

A few sample shots, all PP'ed in lightroom. Mostly exposure adjustments/tonal curves, sometimes a bit of sharpening around 40% with 60% masking, but not every shot:

Last edited by virgilr; 02-22-2009 at 03:08 PM.
02-23-2009, 06:34 PM   #4