Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2009, 07:51 AM   #1

Takumar Lenses

Hello all, I have a chance to pick up locally two Takumar lenses. One is SMC Takumar 1:1.8/55 and the other is SMC Takumar 1:3.5/135 zoom. The seller wants $50 for the pair. I looked at the lens reviews and it seems like a good deal. I'm new to most of this so I thought I would ask the experts.

02-24-2009, 09:11 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
If they are in good physical condition - focus/aperture rings move smoothly, no dings, bumps or major scars; glass clean and scratch-free with no furry things growing inside - yeah, go for it!

$50 for the pair would be decent.
02-24-2009, 09:41 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
These lenses are definitely worth that price if they're in good shape. They are both readily available from other sources so don't worry about bypassing them if they have problems. A lot of people skip over the 55/1.8 to pursue the 50/1.4, but the 55/1.8 is a very good lens. The focal length and lens characteristics are great for portraits. The newest versions of this lens are labeled "SMC Takumar" and have a rubber focus grip. I've found a few that have an annoying scraping/grating feel when they are focused. It feels just like the focus mechanism is irrepairably ruined. It's not. The distance scale is coming unglued from the focus ring, and the ends are scraping against the outer lens body. You can ignore this condition for a while but the glue will continue to fail. You'll need the filter threads to be straight and undamaged to repair this. Older lenses with metal focus grips don't have this problem.

The 135mm is a very good lens. There are some faster alternatives but just one extra stop can be very expensive.