Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2009, 01:09 PM   #1

Difference between 50mm lenses

Hi there everyone,
I'm wondering if I could get some expert advice on my next lens purchase. I currently have a 50mm 2.8 macro lens, and an 18-250 tamron as well as a 10-17pentax fish eye.
I am wanting a lens that is best to use indoors in more low light settings. I've been told to get the 50mm1.4 but i'm wondering if thats redundant since I have a 50mm macro lens. Obvoiusly the 1.4 would be better but i'm wondering what ppls opinions are on it. I also have seen a 50mm 1.2 and am wondering if theres a big difference between these lenses.
Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated! I'm still learning and have lots to learn!
Thank you!

02-28-2009, 01:17 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Tammmzy Quote
Hi there everyone,
I'm wondering if I could get some expert advice on my next lens purchase. I currently have a 50mm 2.8 macro lens, and an 18-250 tamron as well as a 10-17pentax fish eye.
I am wanting a lens that is best to use indoors in more low light settings. I've been told to get the 50mm1.4 but i'm wondering if thats redundant since I have a 50mm macro lens. Obvoiusly the 1.4 would be better but i'm wondering what ppls opinions are on it. I also have seen a 50mm 1.2 and am wondering if theres a big difference between these lenses.
Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated! I'm still learning and have lots to learn!
Thank you!

Welcome to the forum!

The f/1.4 to f/2.8 aperture range makes a world of difference to the images and the type of shots you can get.

It's harder to get focus at f/1.4 because the depth of field (DOF) is so small, but it's possible - the only problem being that someones eye will be in focus, but their nose will not. (not necessarily a bad effect - do some googling on bokeh and DOF and you'll see some images that show you what I'm taking about.)