Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-04-2009, 05:55 AM   #1
Site Supporter
dcmsox2004's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: rhode island
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 7,280
kalimar 60-300mm f3.9 ka mount ??

mornin' all......
does anyone have any knowledge/experience
with a kalimar 60-300mm f3.9 ka mount???
another obscure lens....................

03-04-2009, 09:14 AM   #2
Inactive Account




Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,104
Tamron made a 60-300mm f/3.8-5.4 SP Telephoto Zoom, I wonder if the Kalimar is a re-badged Tamron?
03-10-2009, 02:55 PM   #3
Site Supporter




Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dexter, Michigan
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 53
I have a Kalimar 60-300 f4~5.6. I dunno who made it, but as far as I can tell, it performs optically as well as the Tamron 70-300 f4-5.6 LD Di AF lens, although the Kalimar is manual focus and its macro is only 1:3. I bought it back in the early 80s for my K1000. I had to cut away part of the "flange" so that it could fit on my K200d. It works in spot meter mode and seems to meter correctly with it set on "A" and my k200d set to P, Tv, or Av.

I have to add that even though the lens says its a 4-5.6 aperture, it seems to act like a straight f4 from 60 through 300. That is, when in Av mode and lens ring on A, I can set the aperture to 4 at all focal lengths with my K200d's e-dial.

Now, I can't say that your f3.9 is the same or not...

Last edited by drjaxon; 03-10-2009 at 03:01 PM.
03-10-2009, 03:09 PM   #4
Pentaxian




Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 3,195
QuoteOriginally posted by drjaxon Quote
I have to add that even though the lens says its a 4-5.6 aperture, it seems to act like a straight f4 from 60 through 300. That is, when in Av mode and lens ring on A, I can set the aperture to 4 at all focal lengths with my K200d's e-dial.
But that does not mean the aperture remains at constant f/4.

Now, aim the lens to a uniformly-lit blank wall, set the camera to Av mode and the lens at f/4. Zoom from 60 to 300. Does the shutter speed change?

03-11-2009, 12:29 PM   #5
Site Supporter




Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dexter, Michigan
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 53
Ah!... Indeed. Both the Kalimar and the Tamron do decrease shutter speed by 2X as the zoom approached 300, as my Tokina ATX 100-300 f4 not only is 2X faster at 100mm, but remains at that same shutter speed all the way to 300mm. IOW the Tokina does not get darker as it zooms, as the Kalimar and Tamron do.

Is the Kalimar 60-300 f3.9 a "fixed" 3.9?
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
k-mount, ka, kalimar, pentax lens, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kalimar 500 f8 drjaxon Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 3 06-13-2009 07:34 AM
kalimar 80-200mm f4.5-5.6-any good?? dcmsox2004 Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 1 03-16-2009 12:06 PM
For Sale - Sold: K-mount 28mm 2.8 Macro by Kalimar Rykoh Sold Items 4 11-20-2008 02:56 PM
kalimar 3x tele converter kbiggun2 Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 01-24-2008 08:47 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top