Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2009, 08:20 PM   #1
Inactive Account

What lens for Glacier National Park?

I've been debating for some time picking up either a FA 43 or DA 40. However, I recently made plans to go to Glacier in July. This is a great opportunity for some incredible shots and I want to make sure I have the right gear. I'm concerned the 40 or 43 isn't wide enough for "big sky country", but I don't normally shoot wide so I'm a little unsure.

I'm thinking I should be looking at the DA 21 or DA 14 (or FA 20 if I can find one). I also wonder if I'd be safer going with a the 12-24, although I'd really like a nice prime.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks,

JamieP

03-07-2009, 09:12 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I went to Glacier back when I was using a Minolta film camera. I had a 19-35mm and it was perfect. I highly recommend a wide angle lens for this. I have no experience with the DA14 or 12-24mm, but the range is just right for Montana. Of course for wildlife you would want something longer.
03-07-2009, 09:52 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Glacier

I have the DA 12-24 and the FA 43. I love them both and would think that both have their places in Glacier. I've used them in other mountain locales and traveling. I also have a DA 18-250 that I use for traveling that is very convenient and good. The others are noticeably sharper and are a nice complement. Also, consider whether you want a macro. I have a Tamron 90 2.8 that has served me well.

If you had to choose one to complement a normal kit, I would choose the 12-24 for landscapes.
03-07-2009, 10:36 PM   #4
Forum Member

By July you should be able to pick up the DA 15mm which would satisfy your needs for a wide prime quite well. And yes, in Glacier you will want something wide. What else do you have to take with you?

One view at 21mm:

03-08-2009, 07:27 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster