Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-05-2007, 04:33 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Sigma Zoom Lenses (long question)

I just recently received my K10D and am delighted so far. I've been using an old Vivitar Series 1 28-105 f2.8-3.8 manual focus (one touch) that I used on my Super Program. For the wide end, I've been using an old Vivitar 19mm f3.8 manual focus. I've been getting OK results with these lenses but I'm still basically just getting used to the K10D. My only other digital experience is with a couple of P&S's which are the only cameras I've been using for the last few years. (Pentax 33WR is a wonderful P&S) I've been using Pentax SLR's since 1968 when I bought my first Spotmatic 1000 and used to consider myself a fairly advanced amatuer (Darkroom B&W as well). I've got some re-learning and catching up to do.
My wife and I are planning a vacation with some freinds that will take us through Italy and Greece this summer. I need a one lens solution that won't cost an arm and a leg but will yield acceptable results. My 28-105 is OK but 28 is only normal on the digital. I really like the idea of the 18-200 or 250 lenses that are out there now but I don't need that much reach and the reviews I've read only rate them as OK. They're also just over my current LBA budget. I will eventually want the new DA* 16-50 & 50-135 but that's two lenses and they won't be out soon enough for me to get used to them (and I need to save my pocket change again to buy them).