Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2009, 09:43 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Which lens to use

I have a K10D with the DA55-300 ad DA 18-55 lens. I was shooting at my granddaughter's birthday party with the 55-300. it was indoors and sometimes, and no matter what setting, I just couldn't get a good shot. it was either to dark or to light. I had the flash on. Should I have been using the 18-55 lens instead? I wanted close, but I guess the 55-300 had too much reach for this situation. Could I get a little advice here? I am a little new to this

Thanks

03-15-2009, 10:46 AM   #2
Veteran Member

i would've stuck w/ the 18-55.
the 55-300 is too long for the flash to reach...and not speedy enough to get away w/ hand held shots..(and too long)

I stay away from using long zooms on indoor shots...as much as possible anyway
03-15-2009, 10:56 AM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I assume you're using the camera's pop-up flash - if that's the case, then definitely just use the 18-55 lens and either use green mode (if you're not confident with the settings) or set to f/5.6-8 with a reasonably high ISO, like 400-800.

Indoor shots are greatly improved if you have an external flash with tilt/swivel functions, though.
03-15-2009, 11:30 AM   #4
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Gerrys Quote
I have a K10D with the DA55-300 ad DA 18-55 lens. I was shooting at my granddaughter's birthday party with the 55-300. it was indoors and sometimes, and no matter what setting, I just couldn't get a good shot. it was either to dark or to light. I had the flash on. Should I have been using the 18-55 lens instead? I wanted close, but I guess the 55-300 had too much reach for this situation. Could I get a little advice here? I am a little new to this

Thanks