Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-18-2009, 02:26 PM   #1
Inactive Account

FA 20-35 vs FA J 18-35

Originally wanting a lens wider than my current FA 35/2.0, I was looking at a relatively cheap solution for this that wouldn't have to compromise in IQ all too much. I was looking in the 15mm range, mostly at the manuals since they are cheaper. 20mm would be my absolute max. I found it hard to find something to fit my needs and budget in this range, most of them being manual (not the biggest issue, although I'd prefer to have AF possibilities when conditions require so – I'm no pro at fast MF) and lots under 20mm seem to be fish-eye, which isn't what I'm looking for.

Then I checked out some short-range zooms, more specific the two mentioned in the title: the FA 20-35 and the FA J 18-35. Because they are still relatively cheap solution to my needs, and even throw in some extra's over a manual fixed focal-length lens: a bit of zoom flexibility and AF. However they compromise in speed and size.

The problem though is this: the FA 20-35 is no longer in production, and thus hard to find. The FA J 18-35 is still in production, but I have failed to find a place in Europe that sells these (be it off -or online). And since I've heard that you have to be lucky to get a good copy when buying one of these, second-hand is definately a big no-no and buying from the States I'd rather avoid as well. If my copy turns out to be 'faulty', I'd have to send it back across the Atlantic and hope my next copy will be a 'good' one – if it even arrives at all – and will be much longer under way than, say, would it be from the UK.

I guess what I'm trying to ask here is as follows:
1. Which of the two lenses proposed would you recommend over the other, and why? OR do you have any similar (IQ, focal length and price-wise) suggestions that I've overlooked?