Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2006, 02:41 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Opinions please, whatís my next glass?

This is my first post but definitely not my last.

I have been shooting Pentax for several years, but havenít had the time or money to pursue this love until now. I have a collection of bodies, K1000 (yes, Iím that old), ME Super, ZX-50 and *ist DS (hopefully to add the K10D next year) and a collection of lenses;

SMC Pentax-M 1:2 50 mm
SMC Pentax-FA 1:3.5-5.6 28-80mm
SMC Pentax DA 28-55mm
Seikanon Auto Zoom/Macro 1:3.5-4.4 55-225mm
Sigma 70-200mm 1:2.8 EX DG APO IF

What I want to add is a good portrait lens, extension tubes for macro photography and possibly a rear converter.

Any other suggestions? What glass out there have you found excellent? Any good sources for used/new glass? I eagerly await your opinions.

10-27-2006, 12:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

i am also new into pentax world but i managed to squeeze my tight budget into limited lenses

i believe fa77/1.8 is great for protrait as the bokeh is really great except in harsh lighting environment producing ring bokeh (but i love it)

it is sharp wide open, light to carry but not sure if an extension tube can be placed before the lens.

fa31/1.8 is great for protraits as well. Lovely colour (my friend loves his fa35/2 which is going to be rebatched samsung brand)

but it is not a friendly lens for older women as you can get bashed up easily with all their fine wrinkles showing up in your images even wide open. Not if you do not want longivity

some examples:

10-27-2006, 03:44 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Windwalker Quote

I have been shooting Pentax for several years, but havenít had the time or money to pursue this love until now. I have a collection of bodies, K1000 (yes, Iím that old), ME Super, ZX-50 and *ist DS (hopefully to add the K10D next year) and a collection of lenses;

SMC Pentax-M 1:2 50 mm