Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-21-2009, 05:09 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Backfocusing 40mm Ltd

Hi,

I picked up a brand new 40mm Ltd a few days ago. Obviously i started shooting everything with it. Unfortunately as soon as i saw the results i was quite disappointed. Wide open it is very soft. Once stopped down a bit it very sharp and the color is great, nice and contrasty, smooth bokeh etc. But so soft wide open. To see example of how soft it is click the below link (there are more on page 3 too). I am starting this thread to stop cluttering up the one where people have good copies.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/54584-40-ltd-b...e-using-2.html

Thanks to the folks on here i figured out that some testing for backfocus was needed. So i did the below test : Focus Testing - photo.net

BTW, i recommend everyone to do this. It's a great way to calibrate your body / lens.

I tested my 40mm ltd on two k100d bodies. I also threw the A 50mm f1.7 into the test to give my self as much data as possible.

Sure enough the 40mm ltd back focused on both bodies but was worse on my body. The 50mm back focused on my body but not on the loaner.

Essentially i found that by k100d backfocuses a little and the 40mm ltd backfocuses on both bodies.

I adjusted my k100d to a tiny bit of front focus with the 50mm f1.7 but with this adjustment there is still too much backfocus with the 40mm.

At this adjustment range it is still too soft wide open. If anyone wants to see specific images from the test, please let me know and i will upload them.

My main question is this: am I within my rights to get a direct exchange lens?