Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2009, 07:33 AM   #1

Little League lens

I'm still a beginner, and was hoping for advice on a telephoto lens for my k200d for both baseball and football.

Here in the Pacific NW, it's often overcast or grey during the sports seasons, and the boys are rarely closer than 40feet and move quickly. The 18-55 kit lens just isn't cutting it.

My original plan was a zoom telephoto that fills the range past the kit lens like the sigma 70-300.

Ultimately, prime or zoom, I need a fast lens that can get some closeup shots of the boys on the run, even when the sun isn't shining.

I don't want to spend more than 200$ or so, since there's a decent risk this lens will get wet or dropped in the mud over the course of a couple seasons.

Ideas? Do I need a zoom (I think I do), any budget winners out there?

Thanks for the help.

03-25-2009, 09:19 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you haven't already, I suggest you use the search function to find similar threads in this forum for helpful advice about the quality of the zooms in this range. There's a lot of good information there.

The Pentax branded choice is DA 50-200 which can be had new for $150-200, or used for about $100. You'll find debates in this forum about whether the DA 55-300 is worth the additional $100, but that will put you out of your price range. Many people in earlier threads insist that the DA 50-200 is underrated. You also have the choice of the Tamron 70-300, in addition to the Sigma. For your needs, you might find the "quick shift" focusing feature on the Pentax models to be useful for times when you want to manually tweak the AF focus.

You're not going to find a fast (either in aperture or AF speed) zoom in the sub-$200 price range. You're better off with a prime if that's a primary concern, but I'm not sure what fast AF prime options you have for under $200.
03-25-2009, 09:41 AM   #3
Veteran Member