Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2009, 10:59 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wide angle converter w/50mm f1.7

Hi All,

I am new to this hobby and am already a member of LBA. I own a K100D since almost 2 years and recently bought the Pentax-F 50mm 1.7 after reading all the great stuff here. I also own the Pentax 18-250mm and am spoilt by the ability to take good wide angle shots. I was thinking of attaching a 0.4x (or similar) converter to the 50mm f/1.7. Now before I jump an buy my 9th lens, I wanted to ask around if this work OK? Any issues with losing the clarity, etc?

Thanks,

Manish Ved

03-27-2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by manishved Quote
I am new to this hobby and am already a member of LBA. I own a K100D since almost 2 years and recently bought the Pentax-F 50mm 1.7 after reading all the great stuff here. I also own the Pentax 18-250mm and am spoilt by the ability to take good wide angle shots. I was thinking of attaching a 0.4x (or similar) converter to the 50mm f/1.7. Now before I jump an buy my 9th lens, I wanted to ask around if this work OK? Any issues with losing the clarity, etc?
Well, sure, results from any sort of add-on converter always lose quality. It's very unlikely you'd get results from the 50 plus converter that are anywhere near as good as those from the 18-250 without converter, for example.

If you don't want to carry around the 18-250 but want really good results at 20mm or so - which is 50x0.4 - then the obvious choice would be the DA21/3.2. There is also an M20/4 that is not very common, but can be found if you're patient, for half the cost of the 21.
03-27-2009, 11:35 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Marc Sabatella Quote