Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2009, 05:18 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Portrait Lens questions

I am thinking of adding either the Pentax 50mm or 55mm lens. I am somewhat new to this dlsr stuff, but pretty ok on basic optical theory and Photoshop.

I have read a bunch of helpful information on here and elsewhere about whether the 50mm primes are really true 75-80mm primes due to the crop factor. I originally figured the crop did not affect the telephoto compression and narrowing effect of telephoto lenses and I know there is a lot of discussion on this topic. Most of what I read supported this. I read something today, though, in Popular Photography which muddied the water a bit. Maybe the source is a problem. Nonetheless, it seemed reasonably based.

I guess what I really am asking is whether those that have the 50mm, or perhaps the new 55mm, really use it as much as you had anticipated for portrait work at 1.4 through the low f/2s for the shallow depth of field effects or whether you tend to use true telephoto zooms. I have the 16-50 and 50-135 and really like the 50-135. At 2.8 it is very good for portrait work in terms of clarity, but I wonder about the utility of having a 1.4 lens.

I know there is a big price difference between the 50mm and new 55mm, but the few reviews of the 55mm which I have read all say it is excellent and a wonderful lens (except for the slow auto focusing).

So, I was just looking for feedback from people who do portrait work as to whether the 50mm or 55mm is used by them and whether you feel these are still slightly too wide and can prove unflattering for portrait work. There is not much out there in the 85mm range, except for an Opteka 85mm 1.4. My sense is that it only would be mediocre in quality, but there is not much info on it.

Thanx so much in advance.

Gregg

04-04-2009, 05:27 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums