Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2009, 09:18 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Lens suggestions for wildife photography

I am mostly into wildlife and nature photography and I really need some good lens(es). I was using 35mm film until recently and now I got myself K20D so I am new to digital. The lenses that I have are:

Ricoh Rikenon F2 50mm
Ozunon MC Auto Zoom 1:3.5-4.8 35-75mm
Image Auto Zoom F4.5 80-200mm
Cosina MC F4 200mm
Albinar-ADG Auto 2x Tele-Converter
So 80-200mm F4.5 and 200mm F/4 are so-so lenses considering IQ (not really sharp if I use teleconverter and pretty slow) and they are all manual.

I have my wish list of lenses that I want to have but they are pretty expensive and I don't know which to buy first, I hope one day to have them all.

smc PENTAX D FA 100mm F2.8 Macro
smc PENTAX DA Star 16-50mm F2.8 ED AL (IF) SDM
smc PENTAX DA Star 50-135mm F2.8 ED (IF) SDM
smc PENTAX DA Star 200mm F2.8 ED (IF) SDM (don't know do I really need this one)

Those are not really for birds and such, and finally something bigger

Sigma 300mm F2.8 EX DG IF HSM APO (I think this one would be better than DA star 300mm F4)
Sigma 500mm F4.5 EX DG IF HSM APO

The last 2 are chosen considering lens specifications, I never really have seen any of them or pictures made with them.
I know there are some other options with zoom lenses (like sigma 50-500mm or such, but again I wan't the best I can get). I think that is better option to go with telephoto than with zoom, and of course more expensive.

This is just my idea for now, I hope there is somebody here that has some more experience with some of the lenses that I mentioned

04-20-2009, 11:04 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
questions, questions and more questions

These questions pertain to your present film shooting, not digital

1) are you happy with the focal lengths you have now?