Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-24-2009, 08:22 AM   #1
Inactive Account

K 28mm/2 (rare ?, value ?)

I am new to PentaxForums. I recently picked up a Pentax K 28/2 . Huge lens for a 28mm. Very well made. I know next to nothing about this beast. Does anyone have information on how rare she is ? How many made and market value ( I don't plan on selling it, just curious) any help would be welcome ! Thank you, Randy

04-24-2009, 08:31 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The old answer for stuff when asked what it is worth...

"Well...what did you pay?"
Sorry, I couldn't resist and don't have a clue what it might be worth.

Steve
04-24-2009, 08:56 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by mactansblue Quote
I am new to PentaxForums. I recently picked up a Pentax K 28/2 . Huge lens for a 28mm. Very well made. I know next to nothing about this beast. Does anyone have information on how rare she is ? How many made and market value ( I don't plan on selling it, just curious) any help would be welcome ! Thank you, Randy
I think that lens is quite rare and pretty valueable. I haven't seen images from it, but I heard someone picked one up cheap on the forums lately and mentioned it was developed with the co-operation of Zeiss, and I started to look into it.

Found some info here:

Zeiss ZK lenses v SMC limited - Photo.net Pentax Forum

Some snips:
QuoteQuote:
before Zeiss hooked up with Yashica to release the Contax RTS system in 1975, they first had a brief relationship with Pentax for about a year and they jointly developed the Pentax K mount and also the Pentax K 28mm f2 lens, which is VERY similar indeed to the celebrated Contax Zeiss 28mm f2 lens.
QuoteQuote: