Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2009, 11:32 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Gray market lenses

OK..so I'm a novice. But what is an "official gray market lens"? I'm heading to Hongkong next month, and have been warned to beware of them....

05-01-2009, 02:59 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Gray market lenses are lenses imported into a country without official manufacturer support. The main issue is warranty claims rather then the actual quality of the lens. I can't say there are "pirate" copies which would be of dubious quality.
05-01-2009, 03:54 PM   #3
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are all kinds of counterfeit products coming out of China these days, and while I can't point to any photo examples of this, I'm sure they're out there.

My main point is, in today's free trade environment (mostly), there's not much of a reason for--or advantage to--taking a chance on grey market items.
05-01-2009, 05:14 PM   #4
Pentaxian

My understanding of a "gray market" item is that it has been sold outside of the standard importer/dealer relationship, not that it is a counterfiet product. A gray market item probably won't be covered under warranty. You will see statements in online sellers ads that will mention a lens as "Pentax USA" and possibly the same item with a slightly lower price without that label. That is probably a gray market lens the dealer purchased from an overseas distributer. Most of the time the price difference is only 20 or 30 bucks and to me isn't worth the hassle of not having a warranty if the need arises but if the savings are a lot it might be worth buying. Its the same risk as buying used.

05-01-2009, 08:55 PM   #5
jeffkpotter

QuoteOriginally posted by reeftool Quote