Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2007, 06:08 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
New owner of DA 50-200 lens

A novice with a new toy story...

I just received an early birthday present: a Pentax DA 50-200 lens. I'm new to this autofocus world and decided on this lens as a compliment to the kit lens. I can travel with only two lenses (one in a belt pouch) and cover 18-200 in automatic. It was a tough decision since I have a Sigma 70-210 manual lens but decided I should go automatic for wildlife shots.

Of course it was raining when FEDEX arrived. We have a window that has an overhang so I took some practice shots. I immediately found the bug that is reported elsewhere on the forum. When set to 200 mm this lens will "search" for focus, and sometimes stop far from what is needed. That doesn't worry me yet, I just flipped the MF switch and kept shooting. I'd expect searching with something like below with a foreground and background object. But I had to manually focus when aimed at a house with nothing in between. I have seen this with the kit 18-55 when shooting at a hawk high in the sky. Since it is not unique to me I will live with it.

Attached Images

Last edited by LeoTaylor; 04-17-2007 at 06:12 PM. Reason: Fixed typo
04-17-2007, 06:22 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't recall having a hunting issue that was not caused by the usual uniform/low contrast subject, etc.

I like the IQ a little better than the Sigma 70-300.
04-17-2007, 06:29 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Yep its very sharp and contrasty. But...I already have a 70-200, 70-205, 70-210 and an 80-200...plus a 200/3.5. My LBA's gone nuts haha.

Anyhow, its good that you like Manual focus. Its probably the branches. The camera didn't recognize that and just went straight for the background. I lost my trust in AF a long time ago and have been shooting manual ever since.
04-18-2007, 05:23 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster