Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-10-2009, 08:29 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Difference between M 50mm f/2.0 and M 50mm f/1.4

I picked up an old school Pentax M 50mm f/2.0 today to use with my k100D. This is my first prime lens and I have to say that I really like it. I originally went to pick up a Pentax Spotmatic II with a Pentax M 50mm f/1.4 on it, but it turned out to be a M42 screw type lens. I went ahead and grabbed the k-mount for $35, but I still have the opportunity to grab the Spotmatic with the screw mount lens for $55. Would it be worth my time to go and grab the screw mount lens and find an adapter?? Do you guys/gals think it would be that big of a difference?? I'm still pretty new to the photography game so I'm just not sure my uneducated eyes would notice a difference.

Suggestions?

05-11-2009, 01:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by mr tibbs Quote
but I still have the opportunity to grab the Spotmatic with the screw mount lens for $55. Would it be worth my time to go and grab the screw mount lens and find an adapter??
Yes, yes, yes, yes.

Oh, and yes. If you can get a Takumar 50/1.4 and a Spotmatic for $55 it is worth your time.

As to whether you should use pentax-M or M42 Takumars. Note that both have limitations. An M lens will be open aperture on a digital body, the only time the lens is stopped down to the aperture ring value is when you press the green button and when you take a shot. This means that you have to use it in M mode, and take the exposure with the green button. An M42 lens can be put in M mode (hence it will be stopped down as you turn the aperture ring) which means that you can use Av mode. However, (depending on which camera you have) there will be some inaccuracy, the workaround is to short the mount contacts with some foil. M lenses tend to be smaller and lighter than Takumars.