Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-27-2009, 11:39 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Need guidance for a portrait lens

Hello,

I'll start this thread with my usual disclaimer: I'm NOT a pro. But I dream about it.
The more I get into photography, the more I realize how much I still need to learn. I like photography in general, but I never really took portraits seriously. Now, as I get more experience, I'm getting more and more requests for portrait shots, initially from family and friends and now I did the portraits of my daughter's Kindergarden class. I have a basic strobes/umbrella set that is a great help.
I have made a few extra dollars which is not a bad thing either.
So far I've done it with my K100DS and the kit's lens (DA 18-55). Up to about 2 years ago it was my K1000/Takumar 28-80 combo, Still in service.

I dream of having Limited super primes like the DA 35 ltd and super lenses like the DA* 50-135 and such but those are way out of reach now.
Using a manual focus for over 20 years, I'm willing to sacrifice AF. A lens for portraits will most likely be used indoors most of the time, so weather resistance is not critical.
I have a SMCP A 50mm f2 I sent for servicing. I also have the A70-210 f4 in my bag.
I've always (well, 99.9%) been using zooms. Is a prime better suited for portraits? If so, is any focal lenght better suited? Any guidelines on things to consider? Finally, any suggestions on lenses?

Thanks,

05-27-2009, 12:11 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, I was recently looking at portrait lenses and I find the new Vivitar series 1 85mm f1.4 to be pretty intriguing. It's not too expensive, about $350 or so and it has a few fans here on the forum. It also comes branded as a Samyang or Polar 85mm f1.4 but they are all the same lens. I would check those out for portrait lenses.
05-27-2009, 12:39 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter