Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-05-2009, 04:19 PM   #1

What manual lens?

Hi! I'm new to Pentax system. I'm into experimenting with old, manual lenses. After trying it with Canon and Olympus and feeling let down and disappointed, I'm ready to give Pentax a try. I just got a second-hand K10d and I'm impressed with the amount of control it gives the user as compared to Canon and Olympus. Also its compatibility to older lenses is better than the others. I'm about to start obtaining some older lenses but have no idea where to start. Bayonet, Screw, M, A, Limited or Takumars? Zooms or primes? Any suggestion will be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

06-05-2009, 04:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You really need to start by at least figuring out what sort of focal lengths you are interested in, what kind of budget you might have, etc.

But I can clarify a couple of things:

- there are no "Limited" manual lenses; these are all newer AF lenses
- M and A lenses (and FA and DA, including the "limited" series) *are* bayonet (aka K mount)
- takumars *are* screwmount (except the takumars that are specifically listed as bayonet or k-mount)
- "A" always beats "M" in terms of usability, since you at least get auto-exposure and a full-time meter reading, plsu full flash functionality. But they are also pretyt much always more expensive
- zooms or primes is a totally different question in general. But to the extent it has any relevance here, "most" older zooms are not as good as modern equivalents, whereas "most" older primes are.