Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-15-2009, 12:09 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Oily old lens-repair help requested

Hello all! (My first post)

I recently purchased an old Pentax A-series 35-70mm one-touch zoom Pentax Lens Review Database - 35-70mm F3.5-4.5 (Internal link). I bought it second-hand in an antique shop, not a photography store. The internal optics have visually-apparant bubbles of oil on them, and the resultant pictures are hazy, although not from poor focus (at least I think): the haze appears to be constant in each picture (clearly distinguishable patterns, etc.). I would guess that the previous owner left the lens in an auto in the sun. I am interested in repairing the lens myself.
I have some experience in optics, although not on camera lenses. I do not have many specialty tools. Any advice in addition to tips on dismantling, cleaning procedure, and re-assembly would be greatly appreciated.

06-15-2009, 12:36 PM   #2

A quick google search turned up this very interesting result.

Markus Keinaths Photohomepage - Camera And Lens DIY, Repair, Modification

You might find your answer there.
06-15-2009, 01:30 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have most of one of these lenses, bought cheap as a parts lens. From the back, work in a clean environment where small parts can't escape. The mount has an electrical contact for the A position. When the mount is removed, the aperture ring can slide off, allowing a spring-loaded ball bearing and its spring to fly free. The A button on the ring is also loose. Make sure you control all these loose parts or you won't be happy with your repair. I would not remove the aperture ring, maybe even tape it on so it doesn't slide off while you're not paying attention.