Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2009, 06:12 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Pentax K 300mm f4 no better than the DA 55-300mm?

This could of course be due to my (lack of) skill, but I recently got a mint K 300mm f4 and tried shooting the moon with it. For starters the pentax 1.7x TC didn't improve the image quality much at all and with or without the TC, the shots were comparable to the zoom. I was surprised. Will the pros shed some light on this? Or should I just start saving for the F*, FA* or DA* 300mm?

Shots here https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/633647-post30.html

Note the first shot was taken on the night before the others (sorry).

06-16-2009, 06:26 AM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
G'day mate.
I'm no pro, but I can say that the TC won't improve IQ, rather it degrades it (even if ever so slightly with such a great TC such as yours). Shooting the moon aint as easy as it seems. Longer focal lengths would be more helpful, but I wouldn't get a 'better' one just to be able to shoot the moon...
06-16-2009, 06:47 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
What's the aperture did you use? I usually use at least f8 or smaller, enough depth of field is important for taking pic of the moon.

and yes, TC won't improve IQ, it only increase the reach of the lens, using better TC only give you less "degradion"
06-16-2009, 07:29 AM   #4
Pentaxian

I have had the K 300mm f4 and the 55-300mm (before buying the F* 300mm f4.5) and can honestly say I think the 55-300mm is actually better. Now the F* 300mm f4.5 and 1.7x TC is another thing entirely ... very nice and very sharp.

06-16-2009, 10:08 AM   #5
Pentaxian