Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2009, 06:12 PM   #1

Lens Recommendations for China, London, Europe

Hello!

I'm a college student, and I will be spending ~10 months studying abroad. I'll be in Hangzhou, China for the fall semester and London for the Spring semester. I've used a K100D kit for a few years, but I'm ready to move up, so I've been saving for a K-7 and some glass to help me document what I hope will be the best 10 months of my life. I'll mostly be in urban environments (street photo, people, portraits, ect), but I also plan to do some traveling to the more naturally picturesque areas of China and around Europe (landscape and architecture). Weight and size is a concern, WR is a plus, but most of all I want to be able to get the most out of the K-7 IQ wise.

BUT I'm stuck sifting through all of the amazing lenses Pentax (and others) have to offer, and I need some help deciding. I really can't spend more than ~$1000, and the less I spend on lenses, the more I can spend on travel, etc.

My first thought was a DA* 16-50 and 50-135 pair for the weather sealing, but its a bit out of my price range, even used, and I'm hesitant about QC issues with the 16-50. But I'm loving every image I see coming from the 50-135, and I feel I might use this range more as I very often find myself wanting more reach from my kit lens.
So maybe 50-135 and a wider prime? Or possibly the tamron 17-50 or sigma 18-50?