Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2007, 04:03 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Macro Lenses

Hi, im new to Pentax (K10D) and dslr photography (sort of) and i was wondering if there are any high quality macro lenses for around £500, the sort that would be good for Insect photography. I have been trying to read up and search but im just getting confused.

Thanks for your help.

04-30-2007, 04:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I don't shoot many macros, but the 3 lenses that seem to get the most accolades are:
Pentax smc DFA 100mm f2.8 macro
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX DG Macro
Tamron 90mm f2.8 Di Macro
04-30-2007, 05:12 AM   #3
Veteran Member

first read this topic https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/5920-best-macr...telephoto.html
04-30-2007, 08:08 AM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by omegav6i Quote
Hi, im new to Pentax (K10D) and dslr photography (sort of) and i was wondering if there are any high quality macro lenses for around £500, the sort that would be good for Insect photography. I have been trying to read up and search but im just getting confused.

Thanks for your help.
The best that Pentax offers is the FA 100mm macro, but you could buy two of those for 500 pounds

There's also the FA* 200mm, but it's just about impossible to find...

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-30-2007, 04:37 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I'm a novice with macro, having just picked up a DFA 100 (rebate check was back in 5 weeks). I'm enjoying it, but others know these things in and out.