Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2009, 03:46 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Adaptall Ka mount

I would be interested to hear about anyones experience with the adatpall KA mount on the older series one adaptall lenses.
Having seen the price of an adaptall KA mount (more than I have paid for any of my adaptall lenses) and having found all of the required information about the pentax ka mount system and electrical contacts on the web (Welcome to Bojidar Dimitrov's Pentax K-Mount Page) and being a keen model engineer, I decided to have a go at modifying a normal pk mount to a ka mount. The lens I modified the mount for is an adaptall 35-80 f/2.8-3.5 zoom (model QZ-35M). Modifying the mount was fairly straightforward but when I tried it I was a little disapointed with the results. It workes OK at either end of the aperture range but in the middle it overexposes considerably (about 1.5-2 stops at F/8). At first I though that this was just because the mecghanism for the ka mount must be fundamentally different to ensure that the aperture area opening is linear with the displacemnt of the actuator and I started wondering about further modifying the mount to compensate for this. However I subsequently got hold of an adaptall 2 28mm f/2.5 (model 02B) and this workes fine over the whole aperture range. I would very much like to know if anyone else has experiences similar exposure problems using a proper adaptall ka mount on the older ka lenses. If so these lenses were just not designed to work with with a ka mount, otherwise there is something else wrong with my lens.
In spite of the exposure problem the modification is deemed to be worthwhile as it means that I can frmae and focus at full aperture and the camera does the stoppuing down when I release the shutter. I just have to remember to dial in the required amount of exposure compensation when I set the aperture.

06-27-2009, 08:09 AM   #2
Pentaxian