Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2007, 09:41 AM   #1

Worth waiting for DA*?

I'm new to DSLR photography, I have a K10D and with DA 18-55. I really really enjoy the camera, but I'm not quite sold on the kit lens, I'm currently debating buying the Sigma 17-70, and have almost bought one a number of times. So here's the rub, I'm not a limited budget, 400 dollars is a fair amount of money for me (although if it were worth it I could find more), so is it worth it to wait for the DA*s? Any advice is appreciated!

And because I'm new here, I thought I'd post one of what I believe to be one of my better shots (grimace) any comments are welcome.

Picasa Web Albums - Jed - Matt and Casee

05-01-2007, 10:08 AM   #2
Inactive Account

What is it about the kit lens you don't like? Sharpness? Too slow?
05-01-2007, 10:12 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Frankly its more a subjective thing.

Do you need AF? no? Vivitar 28-90mm f2.8-3.5 is cheap and very sharp

Do you need Faster AF? no? Sigma 17-70/DA 16-45/ etc etc

DA*16-50.

I mean the DA* quality will be very good but is it worth the premium cost..that is up to you. There are many other sharp lenses out there but don't have the SDM AF motor. Do you need 'weather sealing' and how badly. I say this because the lens extends and I can't see how the engineers can possibly keep that thing sealed.
05-01-2007, 10:23 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by SuperJared Quote
What is it about the kit lens you don't like? Sharpness? Too slow?
What SuperJared said - I think all too often (and I am more guilty of this than most) - we 'need' / 'want' to get bigger better stuff based on the criteria there is bigger better stuff to be had.

There is nothing wrong with that at all (I bought a 3 lenses already had the camera less than 2 month - have buyers remorse on one).