Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2009, 09:24 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Limited Useful Life for DA Lenses?

I have just purchased a new K20D, and am awaiting delivery. When I was considering which lenses to purchase, I was tempted by some of the premium DA lenses but decided to hold off because

1- Being a modestly funded novice, I didn't want to overspend on something I might not benefit from for a while

2- By the time I refine my interest, develop the skills, and save the funds, there may be a full-format Pentax that would render the DA lens obsolete.

Does anyone here have concerns about the useful life of their DA lenses? How long might it be before a full-format Pentax body renders them obsolete?

Thanks ahead of time for your thoughts. When I make the jump to premium lenses, I want to be confident that I can use them for a long time.

-David

07-02-2009, 09:50 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Why would a full format camera render an APS-C lens obsolete? Are they obsolete for Canon or Nikon? No, the vast majority of people still use APS-C cameras even though FF is available - and those using FF can still use the APS-C lenses in "cropped" mode. The APS-C lenses will become obsolete only when *you* choose to stop using them - the mere *availability* of an FF alternative (something Pentax has said over and over again they aren't really planning on doing, BTW) certainly won't force you to stop using your APS-C lenses.

For that matter, do the various medium format cameras make 35mm lenses obsolete?
07-02-2009, 09:53 AM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Exactly what Marc just said. You will always be able to use DA lenses.
07-02-2009, 10:13 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Whilst you'll be able to use the DA lenses you would find that some of them (the 21mm springs to mind) would result in very strong vignetting requiring some cropping or quite a lot of PP.