Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2009, 03:42 AM   #46
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by DavidWasch Quote
I have just purchased a new K20D, and am awaiting delivery. When I was considering which lenses to purchase, I was tempted by some of the premium DA lenses but decided to hold off because

1- Being a modestly funded novice, I didn't want to overspend on something I might not benefit from for a while

2- By the time I refine my interest, develop the skills, and save the funds, there may be a full-format Pentax that would render the DA lens obsolete.

Does anyone here have concerns about the useful life of their DA lenses? How long might it be before a full-format Pentax body renders them obsolete?

Thanks ahead of time for your thoughts. When I make the jump to premium lenses, I want to be confident that I can use them for a long time.

-David
Don't read that well reviewed book by your favorit author, she may write an even better in a few years.
Don't take that interresting job, there may be a better payed later on.
Don't mary that lovely girl, you may meet an even nicer girl next year.
Don't...

09-04-2009, 05:51 AM   #47
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by johnmflores Quote
DA* 50-135 2.8 vs. Canon 70-200 2.8:
Not quite a fair comparison.
Different FLs, but generally DA lenses are reasonably compact.
09-04-2009, 06:43 AM   #48
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
Not quite a fair comparison.
Different FLs, but generally DA lenses are reasonably compact.
Different FLs yes, but very similar FOVs.

It's actually quite hard to find APS-C and FF zooms of equal FLs - it seems like the manufacturers are deliberately producing APS-C zooms with similar FOVs to FFs
09-04-2009, 07:00 AM   #49
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Different FLs yes, but very similar FOVs.