Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-10-2009, 07:31 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
pentax zoom

I need to get a zoom lens and I am new at this so any help will be appreciated. I am looking at the pentax 55-300mm zoom and comparing to tamron, sigma and others... brand new, used, obviously i am concerned with price but currently only have the 18-55 lens I bought with the camera so I want to get the most I can for now, since it may be a while before I get another lens.
I am very happy with the 18-55mm, but love taking landscape, sky or otherwise photo's from a distance. having a choice of a Pentax brand compared to xxx brand are they that much better?

07-10-2009, 07:35 AM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi and welcome.
The Pentax 55-300 is worth the extra price compared to the Sigma and Tamron 70-300 varieties. Sharper, better contrast and colour rendition, and quite compact and transportable.

To get any better quality, you'd be looking at a significant price jump to the Sigma and Tamron 70-200 f/2.8 monsters, which doesn't sound like what you're looking for.

So yes, the 55-300 is definitely the pick of the bunch, although used well and in the right conditions, the Tamron 70-300 can also produce great images.

All the best in that.
07-10-2009, 07:49 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to PF.com!

Pentax vs other brand lenses is something that comes up quite a bit here. Usually it boils down to a few things:
  • Your budget
  • Lens range (if zoom)
  • Your understanding of the trade-offs involved with each lens

1. Budget - Some lenses are obviously more expensive than others because of optical performance, features etc. So when you compare Pentax vs. any brands you will need to keep that in mind. DA Star lenses are a good example of this.